caramel sauce

Condensed milk was always in our house hold growing up, my dad loves it and we would eat it straight from the can !  ( oops!) so I tend to have a can in my cupboard at home, as I use it in cheesecakes, slices or sweets. So when I spied a can , I instantly thought of caramel sauce .

Caramel is one of my all time favourite flavours, if offered in  sweets or  desserts I will always choose the caramel.

I wanted to make my own, but didn’t have the time to stand a watch a caramel sauce on the stove top, so I searched for the instructions on boiling condensed milk. It was so simple and I didn’t need to stand over it, so I gave it a try. Results first time! and it was super simple.

caramel form condensed milk

styling and snap by Sydney Food Stylist Jane Collins

Caramel sauce

 makes 1 can

 prep time 2 minutes

 cooking time 3 hours, plus 2 hours cooling

1 x 395g can condensed milk

1 Bring a large deep pot of water to a gentle simmer over medium high heat. Remove the label from the can and place into the hot water, make sure the can is fully covered  by water  about 4 cm.

2 Reduce heat to medium -low, and let simmer for 3 hours.

 3 Put a timer on for 1 hour and check the water to  make sure the can is covered still. If not  top up with water. Check every hour as you don’t want the water to go below the can. Remove with tongs and allow to cool completely on a wire rack. This should take a few hours. I left mine on the counter top and checked it the next day.

 Refrigerate after opening. Should keep for a few weeks covered in a container  in the fridge.

 sizzle tip-  use this a layer in a bonoffee pie, simple served over ice cream, in a chocolate slice, the list is endless, anywhere you would see caramel as an ingredient.

DONT  leave the can simmering unattended keep a careful watch at all times. Best to try this when you are home, and can monitor it safely.

 

Leave a Reply

